Switching from ML to  Backend Dev

Switching from ML to Backend Dev

·

2 min read

Hello stranger, this is my first attempt at writing any article at all, lol... There might be some writing blunders as you read, I be your pardon in advance.

For the last two years, I have been inconsistently learning 'Machine Learning' and as usual I was not getting the hang of it, even when using my favorite language - Python, it still felt so weird to me especially with all the mathematics and statistics and also choosing the right algorithm to work on your dataset with. This made me to start loosing confidence in my coding skills and I know that normally I am a badass programmer.

I decided to watch some YouTube videos on what field I could focus on and become the best I could possibly be. During this period I learnt that even if I stuck with Machine Learning it would not be something that I would be happy doing (I am not looking for the easy way out here, I promise).

I did all my necessary research and I came to a conclusion that I would love to be in the backend development space since I am more of a logical person and would love to develop web application logic, integrations and scripting websites, apps, databases and so on.

And I also feel this is a good fit for me since I have some experience with developing websites before I transitioned to Machine Learning and I owe it too myself to stay consistent in learning and building exciting projects.

I talked a few Tech Mentors that have found their foot in the industry about my decisions and they assured me that it is cool not to get it right the first time and they will always have my back in my journey through tech.

Thanks for listening to my small rant, I would be ranting more here from now on.